Matthew was a tax collector who later became an Apostle. Matthew collected Jesus’ teachings and presented Him as king.The book has 5 discourses of Jesus’ teachings:  The Sermon on the Mount (Matt 5:3-7:27), the missionary discourse (Matt 10:5-42), the parables (Matt 13:3-52), the church order (Matt 18:3-35) and the End Times discourse (Matt 24:4-25:46).


Chapter 1: -The Genealogy of Christ.


Chapters 2-3:1-11: Chapter 2 tells the story of the birth of Christ and Chapter 3:1-11 The Baptism of Christ


Chapter 3:12-17: The Baptism of Christ part 2.


Chapter 4: Jesus is tempted in the wilderness by Satan.


Chapter 5: The Beatitudes, Jesus emphasizes the new covenant that we’re no longer under the law but are saved by grace.


Chapter 5 Part 2: Jesus continues to teach about the Beatitudes.


Chapter 10


Chapter 10:24-Heirachy established in the church.


Chapter 11: Christ sends his 12 disciples out to minister. He also gave instructions to the church about ministry and the persecution associated with it.


Chapter 12: Christ presents himself as King. He teaches us His principals and shows us His Power and the chapter talks about how Israel reacted to Him by rejecting Him.


Chapter 13 Part 1: The Parable of the Sower. The emphasis of Matthew 13 is hearing and not just listening.


Chapter 13:20 Part 2– Continuation of the Parable of the Sower.


Chapter 13:24 Part 3: The Parable of the Wheat and the Tares


Chapter 15:  Chapter 15 talks about the traditions that the Pharisees followed. They emphasized and focused on their rituals and traditions more than following the Word of God.

Leave a Reply